clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Quarterfinal quandaries and thoughts on the All-MAC Team

New, 1 comment

Today's Lineup:

  • No. 2 Central Michigan vs. No. 7 Western Michigan at 11 a.m.
  • No. 3 Akron vs. No. 6 Eastern Michigan at 1:30 p.m.
  • No. 1 Kent State vs. No. 9 Ohio at 6 p.m.
  • 4 Miami vs. No. 5 Buffalo at 8:30 p.m.

My predictions: CMU, Akron, Kent State & I'll have to go with Miami who plays a Buffalo team that is pretty much on the road.

All games will be broadcast on FS Ohio and ESPN360.

All-MAC Teams announced:

All-MAC First Team
Jimmy Conyers, Akron
Rodney Pierce, Buffalo
Kenny Hayes, Miami
David Kool, Western Michigan
Chris Singletary, Kent State

All-MAC Second Team
Jordan Bitzer, Central Michigan
Robbie Harman, Central Michigan
Carlos Medlock, Eastern Michigan
Brandon Bowdry, Eastern Michigan (Junior)
Justin Greene, Kent State (Sophomore)

That is a LOT of seniors that will be graduating that have been playing forever for their respective teams.  Kenny Hayes, Chris Singletary, Robbie Harman & Carlos Medlock all played point guard, which is essentially the quarterback for your offense.  Kool was MAC player of the year, so that will kill WMU and CMU loses their wondertwins who shoot 3-pointers in Bitzer and Harman.  With all these guards graduating, I'm assuming the big focus in the conference will be front-court play next year with guys like 6'6" Brandon Bowdry (16.1 ppg, 9.8 rpg) and 6'8" Justin Greene (13.9 ppg, 6.8 rpg) returning (hello Nate Rucker).

All-MAC Honorable Mention
Chris McKnight, Akron
Brett McKnight, Akron (Junior)
Jarrod Jones, Ball State (Sophomore)
Scott Thomas, Bowling Green (Sophomore)
Calvin Betts, Buffalo
Justin Dobbins, Eastern Michigan
Julian Mavunga, Miami (Sophomore)
Xavier Silas, Northern Illinois (Junior)
D.J. Cooper, Ohio (Freshman)
Armon Bassett, Ohio (Junior)

Hey we have a Xavier Silas sighting for HM!  Just going on which teams lose the least amount of talent, I'd have to peg Ball State as the favorites next year in the West and Ohio or Akron as favorites in the East.  The depth just won't be there next year in the conference and Northern Illinois may actually be able to have a successful season.

All-Freshman Team
Zeke Marshall, Akron
Jauwan Scaife, Ball State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Jake Barnett, Toledo
Nate Hutcheson, Western Michigan

As we all know because of the DiNunno incident, All-Freshman Team in the MAC doesn't mean squat.  Still, for Illinois native D.J. Cooper to get HM as well after an amazing freshman year is impressive.  Just goes to show you how important a point guard is to your squad (hello Kyree Jones).