clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The North Coast Plan: First BCS Standings Edition

A 12-Team College Football Playoff Proposal

The first BCS Standings of the penultimate season of the current BCS era were released on Sunday, October 14, 2012. Starting in 2014, College Football's Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) will move to a 4-team playoff format.

The North Coast Plan is a 12-team college football playoff proposal first outlined here, which accommodates all 10 FBS Conference Champions.

Here's how things stand under the North Coast Plan using the inaugural 2012 BCS Standings (Dated: 10.14.12).

Dropped out: West Virginia, Louisville, Michigan State, South Carolina.
In the Playoff: Kansas State, Rutgers, Michigan, Notre Dame.

Seeds 1-4 - 1st Round Bye

1) Alabama
2) Oregon
3) Kansas State
4) Florida State

Seeds 5-8 - Host 1st Round Games
5) Rutgers
6) Boise State
7) Ohio
8) Michigan

Seeds A-H
A) Florida
B) Notre Dame
C) Rutgers
D) Boise State
E) Ohio
F) Michigan
G) Western Kentucky
H) Louisiana Tech

1st Round Games - Home Sites

Louisiana Tech at Rutgers
Western Kentucky at Boise State
Notre Dame at Ohio
Florida at Michigan

*Projections assume the highest rated team from a conference as that conference's champion. Since there are currently 11 FBS conferences and not the 10 there will be when the playoffs take effect, only 10 projected conference leaders are used in the projections. If the projected WAC Champion is rated higher than the projected Champion of the conference that that team will belong to when the playoffs take effect, then they are included in the projection (i.e. Louisiana Tech rated higher than current C-USA leader).